What Are The Penalties For A DUI Drug Conviction In Georgia?
Drug DUI cases in Georgia typically are misdemeanors. As is the case with most misdemeanors, the person faces up to 12 months in the county jail and up to a $1,000 fine, plus up to 12 months of probation.
How Reliable Are Blood Test Results In A DUI Case?
The general perception is that blood tests are accurate. They are typically performed on a gas chromatograph and juries tend to trust them. However, there are problems with blood tests. If there is a situation where the blood testing machine is including other similar molecular structures to the particular drug that they’re looking for and adding that into the final result, that’s called co-allusion. That is a valid defense. There are other good defenses when there are chain of custody problems. Additional defenses apply when the person performing the test at the laboratory for the government doesn’t follow proper protocols. There are several defenses to blood test cases.
Will I Be Required To Install An Ignition Interlock Device In My Vehicle For A DUI Drug Conviction?
Georgia makes no distinction between alcohol and drugs. Upon being convicted of a second DUI within a five year period, one is required to put an ignition interlock device in their car.
How Much Do You Rely On Science And Scientific Method To Defend A DUI Case?
There’s quite a bit of science involved in DUI cases. Marijuana is very popular these days. You have to determine what the level of active THC is in the citizen’s bloodstream. There are certain levels that are equivalent to being impaired. There’s the debate in the scientific community over this. These types of cases often hinge on scientific defense strategies, such as hiring an expert to explain to a jury what’s impairing and what’s not.
Additional Information On Drug-Related DUI Cases In Georgia
There is one other thing that citizens need to know about a DUI drug case. Typically, on a first DUI alcohol case, if you’re convicted or you elect to enter a plea, you’re entitled to have a work permit to drive on. However, for a first DUI drug case, you’re not eligible for a work permit and have to suffer at least a six month suspension before you can get a driver’s license.
For more information on Penalties For A DUI Drug Conviction In Georgia, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (404) 681-4000.
Call For A Free Consultation (404) 681-4000